Summer in Words Writing Conference

Starts:Thursday, June 20, 2013  7:00 PMEnds:Sunday, June 23, 2013  12:00 PM
Cost:

The registration fee of $285 covers tuition for the three-day conference, both Thursday and Friday night’s receptions, Saturday lunch and keynote, and light breakfasts each morning. Friday night’s Writer’s Reception and the Saturday lunch and keynote are $25.

 

Event Description:

Best-selling author Jonathan Evison will headline the roster for the 6th annual Summer in Words Writers Conference at the Hallmark Inn & Resort in Cannon Beach, Oregon.  A full weekend of workshops, lectures, keynote addresses and individual consults will bring writers and best-selling authors together. The theme for this year’s conference is Deep as the Ocean. SIW provides aspiring and established writers the opportunity to hone their writing skills, hear inspiring advice, and network with fellow writers.  

This year's conference kicks off Thursday evening, June 20th with a chance for participants to meet and mingle. On Friday, June 21 a double track of workshops will be featured taught by Monica Drake, Melissa Hart, Randal Houle, Lauren Kessler and Jessica Morrell.  Friday’s workshops will be followed by a reception and book signing with books from Cloud & Leaf Bookstore and a talk by YA author Kari Luna onPersistence: One Part DIY, All Parts Heart. Saturday features workshops by Monica Drake, Jessica Morrell and a luncheon and keynote byJonathon Evison on Why Do We Write, Anyway? Evison will also teach a workshop on Saturday afternoon on fictional characters. Saturday night is Out Loud, a chance for attendees to read from a work in process. Sunday morning includes a workshop by Jessica Morrell and Kelly Brown Williams whose new book Adulting: How to Become an Adult in 468 Easy(ish) Steps is receiving rave reviews and was optioned by Fox to become a television series.

Conference founder Jessica Morrell said, “Writers love coming to Summer in Words. They enjoy the personal touch of our conference, the ambience of the Hallmark Inn overlooking the Pacific, and the amazing quality of our workshops and speakers. Plus, it’s just fun. I’m especially looking forward to hearing Jonathan Evison talk about why we write and the fabulous Kelly Williams Brown on Write Like it’s Your Job.  This year we revved up our faculty so will have workshops for a wide range of interests from fiction to memoir, essays, nonfiction and how to sell. As always, the conference is aimed at giving writers a big advantage in today’s ever-changing publishing landscape.”

Both beginning and established writers are invited to attend the conference. SIW will also feature a raffle with proceeds going to Write Around Portland, an organization that helps people transform their lives through writing and the Hoffman Center a facility that provides arts and a visiting author series in Manzanita.

Cannon Beach, Oregon is a vibrant community on Oregon’s coast known for its love of the arts and books. The Hallmark Inn & Resort is located in midtown and overlooks Haystack Rock. Discounted room rates are available for conference participants. Cloud & Leaf Bookstore of Manzanita will be selling books at the event.

Visit any of the instructors’ websites or blogs:

Jonathan Evison http://www.jonathanevison.net/

Kelly Williams Brown http://kellywilliamsbrown.com/

http://adultingblog.com/\

Monica Drake   www.monicadrake.com

Melissa Hart http://melissahart.com/

Randal Houle http://randalhoule.com/

Lauren Kessler http://laurenkessler.com/

Kari Luna http://kariluna.com/

Jessica Morrell: www.jessicamorrell.com  

www.thewritinglifetoo.blogspot.com

 

Read more about:

Sponsors